President appoints constitutional committee

President Maithripala Sirisena appointed a committee to obtain necessary suggestions to amend the Constitution or identify the needs to formulate a fresh constitution, Highways State Minister Dilan Perera said.

The minister was addressing the media yesterday in Colombo.

Perera said the committee will be chaired by Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva. The other members are Mahinda Samarasinghe, Dilan Perera, Faizser Musthapha, S. B. Dissanayake, Angajan Ramanadan, Hisbulah, Pavithra Wanniarchchi, Keheliya Rambukwella, A. H. M. Fowzie and Bandula Gunawardena.

The Committee will decide whether the prevailing constitution should be amended or create a new constitution, he said.

-Dharma Sri Abeyratne